University of Science and Technology Liaoning

The University of Science and Technology Liaoning (USTL) was established in 1948, first known as the Anshan Institute of Iron and Steel, which was one of China's earliest metallurgical higher educational institutions. In 1958, the university was transferred under the administration of the Ministry of Metallurgical Industry of the Chinese central government. In 1998, the oversight of AIIST was transferred from Ministry of Metallurgical Industry to the government of Liaoning Province.

In 2002, AIIST changed its name to Anshan University of Science and Technology (ASUST). The university took on its current name from 2006 when the Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China approved the restructure of Anshan University of Science and Technology to University of Science and Technology Liaoning.

The University has developed into a national comprehensive university. It offers a variety of programs and subjects covering Technology, Science, Economics, Management, Liberal Arts and Law.

There are currently 20,000 full time undergraduate students, more than 1,400 postgraduate student, and 1,760 faculty members in 18 colleges and faculties. The university offers 56 undergraduate programs, 40 of which also have master's or doctoral degree authorization.

The University has 14 provincial level key subjects and 8 provincial level key laboratories. Its strength lies in polytechnic education, and it continues to develop its overall construction and curriculum development.

USTL can provide foreign students with scholarship (PhD only) supported by Liaoning Provincial government of China. All admitted students can have full scholarship during the whole study period in USTL (including tuition fee, accommodation fee and living expenses).