Taiyuan University of Technology

Taiyuan University of Technology (henceforth, TYUT) was founded in 1902, and is one of the three earliest national universities in China. Further more, it is the only university in Shanxi Province nominated by the Ministry of Education in China as one of the top 100 universities in the 21st century in China, i.e. "Project 211". In September 2017, the Chemical Engineering and Technology of TYUT was successfully elected "Double First-rate" constructing discipline.

At present, TYUT occupies an area of over 500 acres, with a public building area of 1.2 million m2. There are over 30,000 undergraduates, over 5,000 postgraduates and nearly 800 PhD candidates. There are 79 undergraduate majors, 123 master stations, 51 doctoral stations and 13 post-doctorate research centers. In addition, TYUT has 3 national key disciplines, 4 national-level model centers of experiment education, 5 national-level promotion programmes of special disciplines, and 7 National Centers for Engineering Practice and Education. Currently, there are 3,575 teaching staff members, among whom 2,055 are full-time teachers, 941 are professors, 157 supervisors of PhD candidates, 16 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Chinese Academy of Engineering (including double employed academicians). According to the "2016 Disciplines and Majors Evaluation Report on Chinese Universities", the majors of Mechanical Manufacturing and its Automation, and Material Shaping and Control Engineering, have for the first time entered the national 5-star undergraduate disciplines. In addition, TYUT's engineering discipline, material science discipline and chemical science discipline all rank top 1% among ESI Global Disciplines Ranking.

TYUT began recruiting international students in the early 1980s. There are over 400 international students on campus. Since 1980s, TYUT has enrolled international students from over 100 countries covering Russia, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Burma, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Malaysia, Mongolia, Philippines, Yemen, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Palestine, Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Cameroon, Nigeria, Benin, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Seychelles, Mauritius, Mozambique, Sultan, Congo (gold), Congo (Brazzaville), Zambia, Equatorial Guinea, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Chile, Peru, Bolivia, France, Italy, Britain, Spain, Belgium, Germany, Holland, Romania, United States, Canada, Jamaica, Antigua and Barbuda, the British Virgin Islands, Venezuela, Samoa, Cook islands, Australia, Kiribati, and Saudi Arabia. Apart from learning Chinese, international students can also study for bachelor's degree, master's degree or doctorate degree.