Northeast Electric Power University

Northeast Electric Power University (NEEPU) was established in 1949. Taking talent training, scientific research, social service and cultural inheritance and innovation as its missions, Northeast Electric Power University adapts to the needs of state electric power industry and economic construction of Jilin province actively. Taking electric power as its main feature, a most complete and multidisciplinary discipline system has taken shape. The university has 15 schools and departments, 43 undergraduate programs, covering 8 types of disciplines, which are engineering, science, management, liberal arts, law, economics and education. NEEPU has 2 first-grade subjects of doctoral degree and 11 first-grade subjects and 49 second-grade subjects of master degree. Currently, NEEPU has about 19,000 full-time students and over 1,400 faculties and administrative staff.

The university has actively conducted kinds of academic exchange and cooperation with colleges and universities or scientific research institutions in the United States, Japan, the United Kingdom, Russia, Republic of Korea, Germany and many other countries chronologically. In 1998, the university was authorized to enroll foreign students. In 2000, approved by the Office of Academic Degree of the State Council, NEEPU began an undergraduate degree program jointly operated with Utah State University. In 2012, Ministry of Education approved the undergraduate program of Electrical Engineering and Its Automation between NEEPU and University of Strathclyde. In 2011, NEEPU became one of the universities being authorized to send the young and middle-aged core teachers abroad for advanced training. In 2013, the university was authorized by the Ministry of Education to be a Chinese Government Scholarship university.